Licensing & Credentialing · RBT Certification · 2026

How to become an RBT: the technical path.

The Registered Behavior Technician credential is issued by the Behavior Analyst Certification Board, the same body that certifies BCBAs. The path runs through eligibility checks, a 40-hour training, a competency assessment, and a national exam, and the credential works only under a supervising BCBA or BCaBA. Here is the technical path, including the two-year recertification cycle that began in 2026.

Important · Not affiliated with the BACB, and not career or legal advice

ABAWiser is not affiliated with, endorsed by, or acting on behalf of the Behavior Analyst Certification Board. This page is general educational information about the path to RBT certification. It is not career, legal, or exam-preparation advice, and it does not substitute for the BACB's own published materials, which govern and can change. Confirm every requirement on bacb.com before you rely on it.

🎓
The short version
To become an RBT, you need to be at least 18 with a high school education or its equivalent, pass a criminal background check and an abuse registry check, complete a 40-hour training, pass an initial competency assessment, and pass the RBT exam. Once certified, an RBT works only under the close, ongoing supervision of a qualified supervisor as defined in the Handbook, and keeps the credential through a recertification requirement that changed on January 1, 2026, to a two-year cycle with 12 professional development units.

The RBT is the entry-level, paraprofessional tier in ABA: it has no degree requirement, and it cannot be held independently of a qualified supervisor. The rest of this page walks through eligibility, training, the exam, supervision, and the recertification change in the order a candidate actually experiences them.

Training required
40 hours
Minimum age
18
Recertification change
Annual until 2026, then every 2 years
Current exam content
RBT Test Content Outline, 3rd ed.

Looking for the credential above this one? If you are deciding between becoming an RBT and becoming a BCBA, or planning the path from one to the other, see how to become a BCBA for the degree, coursework, fieldwork, exam, and recertification requirements at that level.

The short answer, in plain language

Becoming a Registered Behavior Technician, an RBT, means meeting a set of eligibility requirements, completing a 40-hour training, passing a competency assessment, and passing the RBT exam, all set by the BACB, the same national body that certifies BCBAs. First, eligibility: at least 18 years old, a high school education or its equivalent, and a passed criminal background check and abuse registry check. Second, the 40-hour training, which may come from an employer, a university, or an online program. Third, the initial competency assessment, completed with a qualified assessor after training. Fourth, a passing score on the RBT exam.

Passing the exam does not end the relationship. An RBT must be added as a supervisee by a qualified RBT Supervisor or RBT Requirements Coordinator before beginning services, and keeps the credential through an ongoing supervision requirement plus a recertification cycle that changed in 2026, covered later on this page (RBT Handbook, updated 06/2026).

Eligibility requirements

Four requirements must be met before applying. Age: at least 18 years old when the application is submitted. Education: at least a high school education or its equivalent. Criminal background check: passed no more than 180 days before paying for the application, comparable to checks required for home health aides, child care professionals, and teachers in the community where services will be provided; fingerprinting is not required by the BACB but may be required by a state or employer. Abuse registry check: passed on the same 180-day window and comparable standard, with an unavailable registry an acceptable answer where no state or provincial registry exists (RBT Handbook, updated 06/2026, printed p. 3).

An Attesting Certificant, who may not be related to, subordinate to, or employed by the applicant, confirms age, education, and the two checks, then signs a Certification Application Attestation form no more than 90 days before the application is paid for (RBT Handbook, updated 06/2026, printed p. 3).

The 40-hour training

Training must meet the requirements in the RBT 2026 40-Hour Training Requirements and Curriculum Outline, completed in no less than 5 days and no more than 180 days, counting both the start and end date. The training may come from an employer, a university, or an online program; the BACB itself does not provide the training, certificates, or program recommendations. The training provider may not be related to, subordinate to, or employed by the applicant (RBT Handbook, updated 06/2026, printed p. 3). A training certificate from the provider is submitted with the certification application.

The initial competency assessment

After completing the 40-hour training, and no more than 90 days before submitting the certification application, an applicant must demonstrate competent performance of the tasks on the RBT Initial Competency Assessment, the version effective January 1, 2026, with a qualified assessor who may not be related to, subordinate to, or employed by the applicant (RBT Handbook, updated 06/2026, printed p. 3). The completed assessment is uploaded with the certification application.

Applying for certification

The application runs in order: create a BACB portal account using a personal email address and legal name matching government identification; complete the Certification Application Attestation form, the 40-hour training, and the Initial Competency Assessment; submit the certification application itself, which stays active for 90 days before requiring a new application and fee if requirements are not met in time; submit payment; and allow about two weeks for BACB staff to process the application (RBT Handbook, updated 06/2026, printed pp. 3 to 6). An approved application comes with instructions for scheduling the exam with Pearson VUE, which must happen within one year of approval.

The 2026 fees stated in the Handbook are a $65 Certification Application Processing Fee paid to the BACB and a $45 Exam Appointment fee paid to Pearson VUE (RBT Handbook, updated 06/2026, printed p. 6). This page does not state any fee not printed in the Handbook itself.

The exam

The RBT certification examination is based on the RBT Test Content Outline, 3rd edition, at a level consistent with an entry-level behavior technician (RBT Handbook, updated 06/2026, printed p. 7), organized into measurement, assessment, skill acquisition, behavior reduction, documentation and reporting, and professional conduct and scope of practice (RBT Handbook, updated 06/2026, printed p. 40). A candidate tests under whichever edition of the outline is current when the exam is scheduled; if a new edition takes effect during an active authorization period, the candidate must test under the new edition, with no exceptions (RBT Handbook, updated 06/2026, printed p. 7). This page does not state a pass rate, since the Handbook does not publish one.

After you pass

A newly certified RBT's status begins inactive. To change it to active, a qualified RBT Supervisor or RBT Requirements Coordinator who will provide the RBT's ongoing supervision must add the RBT as a supervisee in the BACB portal, and the Handbook states that an RBT may only practice once that supervisor or coordinator is on record with the BACB; the current supervisor, coordinator, and certification status all appear on the BACB's Certificant Registry (RBT Handbook, updated 06/2026, printed pp. 14 to 15, 21). The Handbook defines an RBT's own practice as happening under the close, ongoing supervision of a BCBA, BCaBA, or FL-CBA, and, using the IRS's own employee-versus-independent-contractor distinction, states that because an RBT does not control how duties are performed, an RBT in the United States would almost never qualify as an independent contractor as the IRS defines one; any RBT working as an independent contractor, and any business hiring RBTs that way, is directed to consult a tax professional (RBT Handbook, updated 06/2026, printed pp. 26 to 27).

Supervision requirements

An RBT must obtain ongoing supervision for at least 5% of the hours spent providing behavior-analytic services each calendar month (RBT Handbook, updated 06/2026, printed p. 16). Supervision must include at least two face-to-face, real-time contacts per month, not by phone or email, with the supervisor observing the RBT providing services in at least one of those contacts; the observation may be in person or by video, though video monitoring alone without real-time interaction does not count. At least one of the two monthly contacts must be individual; the other may be a small-group meeting of 2 to 10 RBTs (RBT Handbook, updated 06/2026, printed p. 17). Ongoing supervision and professional development are separate requirements, and neither can be used to satisfy the other.

Who may supervise an RBT

The Handbook's own definition of the RBT role names a BCBA, a BCaBA, or an FL-CBA as the qualified supervisor an RBT practices under (RBT Handbook, updated 06/2026, printed p. 26). Its detailed supervisor-qualifications table and glossary then specify what it takes to formally hold each supervisory role: two structures exist. Under an RBT Supervisor structure, one or more RBT Supervisors, each certified as a BCBA or BCaBA, are responsible for all services the RBT provides. Under an RBT Requirements Coordinator structure, a coordinator, who must hold an active BCBA certification specifically, ensures that the RBT's supervisors meet all requirements and may also serve as a supervisor directly (RBT Handbook, updated 06/2026, printed pp. 19, 40). Either way, the RBT may not be related to, superior to, an employer of, or in another dual relationship with the supervisor, and paying a supervisor for services does not make the RBT that supervisor's employer. Before providing any supervision, every RBT Supervisor and RBT Requirements Coordinator must complete a training based on the Supervisor Training Curriculum Outline (2.0) (RBT Handbook, updated 06/2026, printed p. 19).

Keeping the credential: recertification and the 2026 change

Through December 31, 2026, an RBT who recertifies completes the current Recertification Competency Assessment one final time, within 45 days of the expiration date, before a two-year recertification cycle begins, and already pays the $50 two-year recertification application processing fee that took effect January 1, 2026 (RBT Handbook, updated 06/2026, printed pp. 27, 29). A late recertification carries a $50 late fee, and an insufficient-funds or returned payment carries a $45 fee (RBT Handbook, updated 06/2026, printed p. 29).

Current RBTs do not recertify in 2027. The next recertification date is two years after the RBT's 2026 recertification, so an RBT who recertifies in 2026 recertifies again in 2028 with a recertification application and no competency assessment. The application becomes available in the BACB portal 45 days before the recertification date and must be completed on or before that date to avoid a lapse. Starting with the cycle that begins when an RBT certifies or recertifies in 2026, an RBT must also earn 12 professional development units, called PDUs, within each two-year cycle, through in-service training from a BCaBA, BCBA, or BCBA-D at the RBT's own organization, a professional development event from an authorized continuing-education provider, or a passed didactic behavior-analytic university course; ongoing supervision, client-specific training, and BCaBA or BCBA fieldwork do not count toward PDUs (BACB, RBT 2026 Requirements, p. 4; RBT Handbook, updated 06/2026, printed pp. 30 to 31).

An RBT who misses the recertification date has 30 days to reinstate, including a late fee, before the certification expires and practice must stop immediately; after that window, the former RBT must meet the eligibility requirements in force at that time, reapply, and retake the exam (RBT Handbook, updated 06/2026, printed p. 29). An RBT may also become inactive by choice, by having no qualified supervisor on record, by being in the reinstatement period, or through sanctions, and an inactive RBT may not bill, practice, or represent themselves as active (RBT Handbook, updated 06/2026, printed pp. 29 to 31).

RequirementRecertification in 2026Next recertification (2028 for RBTs who recertified in 2026)
What you must completeRecertification Competency Assessment, within 45 days of expiration, one final timeRecertification application and 12 PDUs earned during the cycle; no competency assessment
Cycle length once this recertification is doneTwo years, beginning as soon as this recertification is completeTwo years, renewed each cycle
Recertification fee$50 two-year application fee, effective Jan. 1, 2026Same $50 fee
Reinstatement window30 days, with a $50 late feeUnchanged

Sources: RBT Handbook, updated 06/2026, printed pp. 27, 29 to 31.

State rules sit on top of this

Everything above is the national RBT certification. Some states add their own rules for technicians or behavior technicians working in ABA, on top of or alongside the national credential; this page does not say which states or how many, since that is state-specific and belongs on each state's own page. Start at the licensing and credentialing hub for what a specific state requires at the technician level, and see how to become a BCBA for the credential an RBT Supervisor or RBT Requirements Coordinator must hold.

Common mistakes on this path

  • Starting the 40-hour training or competency assessment too early. Training must run 5 to 180 days and the competency assessment must sit within 90 days of application; stale documentation can expire before the application is filed.
  • Letting the certification application lapse. An application stays active only 90 days; missing that window means a new application and a new fee.
  • Beginning services before being added as a supervisee. A newly certified RBT needs a qualified RBT Supervisor or RBT Requirements Coordinator on record before providing services.
  • Treating an RBT as an independent contractor. The Handbook states that an RBT would almost never qualify as an independent contractor under the IRS's own worker-classification test, and that misclassification can also raise an Ethics Code issue; consult a tax professional before treating one as a contractor.
  • Assuming any BCBA or BCaBA can serve as an RBT Requirements Coordinator. The Handbook requires that role to hold an active BCBA certification specifically, not a BCaBA.
  • Missing the shift to a two-year recertification cycle. An RBT who recertifies in 2026 still completes that year's Recertification Competency Assessment one last time, and the two-year, PDU-based cycle begins as soon as that recertification is done.

Frequently asked questions

How long does it take to become an RBT?
This page states no fixed timeline. The Handbook's own windows are a 5- to 180-day training period, a competency assessment completed within 90 days before applying, and about two weeks for the BACB to process a complete application (RBT Handbook, updated 06/2026, printed pp. 3, 6).
How old do you have to be to become an RBT?
At least 18 years old when the certification application is submitted (RBT Handbook, updated 06/2026).
Do you need a degree to become an RBT?
No. The RBT is a paraprofessional credential requiring at least a high school education or its equivalent, not a college degree.
How much supervision does an RBT need?
At least 5% of the hours spent providing behavior-analytic services each month, delivered through at least two face-to-face, real-time contacts monthly, with observation in at least one and at least one contact held individually (RBT Handbook, updated 06/2026).
How do I renew my RBT certification?
In 2026, by completing a Recertification Competency Assessment within 45 days of your expiration date one final time; that recertification starts your two-year cycle, so you do not recertify in 2027. Your next recertification, in 2028 for an RBT who recertified in 2026, is an application with 12 professional development units earned during the cycle and no competency assessment (BACB, RBT 2026 Requirements, p. 4; RBT Handbook, updated 06/2026, printed pp. 27, 30 to 31).
Can an RBT work without being certified yet?
A newly certified RBT's status begins inactive, and the Handbook states that an RBT may only practice once a qualified RBT Supervisor or RBT Requirements Coordinator is on record with the BACB; practicing before that point is not permitted (RBT Handbook, updated 06/2026, printed pp. 14, 21).
Is RBT a license?
No. RBT is a national certification from the BACB, not a state license. Some states add their own rules for technicians on top of it; check your state's licensing page.

Where to go for the authoritative answer

This page is a plain-language map of the BACB's own published requirements, not a replacement for them. Read the full RBT Handbook at bacb.com before acting on anything here.

Where this site can help is the layer above the national credential: who may supervise your RBTs, which states add their own technician rules, and how your practice structures hiring and supervision. If that is the problem in front of you, my advisory work starts there.

Talk to me about supervising and hiring RBTs

Confirm current requirements directly

The RBT certification path is mid-transition from an annual to a two-year recertification cycle, and the BACB updates its own published materials on its own schedule. The RBT Handbook at bacb.com is the authoritative source. ABAWiser is not affiliated with the BACB. Neither this page nor any secondary source should be relied on in place of the BACB's own published materials.

Last updated October 2026. Summarized directly from the RBT Handbook, updated 06/2026, published by the Behavior Analyst Certification Board at bacb.com. Requirements change on the BACB's own schedule and are interpreted by the BACB itself. Nothing here is career, legal, or exam-preparation advice. Confirm every figure directly with the BACB before relying on it.