Licensing & Credentialing Spoke · Vermont · 2026

Who must be licensed to practice ABA in Vermont, and how do you get credentialed?

Vermont licenses applied behavior analysts and assistant behavior analysts under 26 V.S.A. chapter 95, administered by a Director within the Office of Professional Regulation rather than a standalone board. The chapter has been in effect since July 1, 2016.

Important · This is not legal advice

This page is general educational information about Vermont behavior-analyst licensing and payor credentialing. It is not legal, tax, or business advice, it does not create an attorney-client relationship, and it is not a substitute for advice from the Office of Professional Regulation, a credentialing specialist, or qualified counsel. Verify current requirements with the office, the BACB, Vermont Medicaid, and each payor before relying on anything here.

⚖️
Verdict for Vermont
Vermont licenses applied behavior analysts and assistant behavior analysts under 26 V.S.A. chapter 95. There is no separate board; the Director of the Office of Professional Regulation administers the license directly, effective since July 1, 2016. Licensure requires a qualifying graduate degree, Vermont-verified supervised practicum hours, and a BACB-approved examination, and renews every two years.

Vermont is one of the states in this guide with its own state-verified fieldwork figure rather than a bare reference to BACB certification: the chapter itself sets a 1,500-hour supervised-practicum floor completed over at least one year, with at least 75 hours of direct one-to-one supervision, as part of eligibility for licensure by examination. Licensure lets you practice; credentialing with Medicaid and commercial plans is a separate step before you can bill.

Is ABA licensed?
Yes, 26 V.S.A. ch. 95
Regulator
Office of Professional Regulation (no board)
Underlying credential
BACB-approved examination
Renewal
Biennial

Looking for the national credential behind the state rules? This page covers Vermont. For the BACB path itself (degree, coursework, fieldwork, exam, recertification), see how to become a BCBA.

Is ABA licensed in Vermont, and under which office

Yes. Vermont licenses applied behavior analysts and assistant behavior analysts under Title 26, chapter 95 of the Vermont Statutes Annotated, effective July 1, 2016. This guide fetched the chapter's own definitions section directly, which names no board at all: "Director" is defined as the Director of the Office of Professional Regulation, and "License" is defined as authorization to practice issued by the Director (26 V.S.A. § 4902). Vermont follows the same no-board structure the Office of Professional Regulation uses for several of the smaller professions it regulates directly.

The credential tiers: analyst and assistant

The chapter licenses two tiers: the applied behavior analyst and the assistant behavior analyst, both licensed directly by the Director rather than by separate boards or committees (26 V.S.A. § 4902). Eligibility for each tier is set out in its own section, § 4921 for the applied behavior analyst and § 4922 for the assistant behavior analyst, with the assistant tier practicing under the supervision described below.

The BACB-aligned examination and degree

To be licensed as an applied behavior analyst, an applicant needs a doctoral or master's degree from a program accredited by the Association for Behavior Analysis International, or an equivalent program the Director approves, with a coursework sequence approved by the Behavior Analyst Certification Board, and must pass a nationally recognized examination from the BACB that the Director has approved (26 V.S.A. § 4921). The chapter is explicit that the Director is not required to develop or administer the examination independently, which is why this functions as a BACB-aligned pathway rather than a Vermont-specific test. This page does not restate the BACB's own national hour or content requirements beyond what Vermont's own statute states as a state-verified figure, covered next.

What it takes to get licensed

Beyond the degree and examination, § 4921 sets Vermont's own supervised-practicum floor: at least 1,500 hours of supervised practicum completed over a minimum of one year, with at least 75 of those hours involving direct, one-to-one supervision (26 V.S.A. § 4921). This is a state-verified figure, distinct from (though similar in magnitude to) the BACB's own national fieldwork standard, and several other states in this guide separately verify comparable hour counts rather than delegating entirely to the certifying body. Licensure by endorsement is also available under a separate section for an applicant already licensed in another jurisdiction with comparable requirements (26 V.S.A. § 4923).

Title protection and exceptions

The chapter restricts both the title and the underlying practice, with prohibitions and offenses addressed directly in its general provisions (26 V.S.A. § 4903). Its exceptions section, read directly, is broad: it does not reach a person who does not use a title suggesting licensure while working in roles such as religious ministry, employment or rehabilitation counseling, Agency of Human Services functions, mediation or court evaluation, self-help or peer-counseling group participation, or respite, foster, or hospice care, and it does not reach other state-recognized professions acting within their own scope (26 V.S.A. § 4904). Matriculated students and trainees practicing under supervision with a title that discloses their training status are also excepted, as are school paraprofessionals implementing a behavior plan a licensed supervisor designed, provided that supervisor retains ultimate responsibility and oversees data collection and assessment (26 V.S.A. § 4904).

Vermont's structure, a Director rather than a board, is a reminder that "licensed" and "board-regulated" are not the same question in this guide: Vermont answers yes to the first and no to the second.

Supervision rules

The assistant behavior analyst tier practices under the supervision of a licensed applied behavior analyst, addressed in its own section of the chapter (26 V.S.A. § 4929). This guide did not extract the full numeric detail of that supervision section (contact counts, hour minimums); confirm the specific supervision structure directly with the Office of Professional Regulation, and otherwise treat the certifying entity's own supervision standards as the operative floor.

Renewal, fees, and continuing education

Licenses renew every two years, on a schedule the Director sets, upon payment of the renewal fee, with the Director providing biennial notice of expiration dates and requirements (26 V.S.A. § 4925). As a condition of renewal, the Director may require continuing education, which can be satisfied through current BACB certification where the Director deems it equivalent, through training units on systematic oppression and anti-oppressive practice or related topics, through virtual synchronous training treated as equivalent to in-person training, and through cross-crediting of units earned in another mental health profession the licensee also holds (26 V.S.A. § 4925). Fees themselves are not stated in chapter 95; the chapter cross-references the general professional-regulation fee statute, and this guide did not independently fetch that cross-referenced fee schedule. Confirm the current license and renewal fee directly with the Office of Professional Regulation (26 V.S.A. § 4926, cross-referencing 3 V.S.A. § 125(b)).

Getting credentialed with payors

Licensure lets you practice; credentialing lets you bill, and they are separate processes with separate timelines. After licensure, a provider enrolls with Vermont Medicaid and credentials with commercial plans, most of which draw provider data from CAQH. Credentialing verifies the license and history and is followed by periodic revalidation. The billing entity and its ownership are disclosed during enrollment, which is where licensing meets the entity and ownership questions covered elsewhere in this guide. What each payor covers and pays for ABA is a separate topic on the Medicaid and insurance page. A sale or expansion in Vermont turns on more than licensing: the Vermont sale and expansion guide covers the reporting law and the covenant.

Vermont-specific wrinkles

Three features stand out. First, the no-board structure: unlike most states in this guide, Vermont regulates this profession through a Director inside a general professional-regulation office rather than through any dedicated or borrowed board, which affects where complaints and rulemaking actually happen. Second, Vermont independently verifies a 1,500-hour supervised-practicum figure with a 75-hour direct-supervision component, rather than simply pointing to whatever the BACB itself requires, which is a meaningful state-level check worth planning fieldwork around if you are training toward Vermont licensure specifically. Third, the continuing-education framework explicitly contemplates training on systematic oppression and anti-oppressive practice as a qualifying category, a specific subject-matter requirement this guide did not find named the same way in other states covered here.

How licensing connects to the rest of your compliance stack

Licensing is the credential the rest of the structure is built around:

  • Entity and ownership. Vermont's professional-corporation and professional-LLC forms are elective for a licensed behavior analyst, not compelled. See the Vermont entity page and the Vermont ownership page.
  • Medicaid and insurance. Licensure and credentialing are prerequisites to coverage; what is covered and paid is separate. See Medicaid and insurance mandates.
  • Facility and records. Supervision and treatment documentation carry into facility and HIPAA compliance. See facility licensure and HIPAA.

Becoming licensed and credentialed in Vermont: the sequence

  1. Complete the qualifying degree and coursework sequence. A doctoral or master's degree from an ABAI-accredited program, or an approved equivalent.
  2. Complete the supervised practicum. At least 1,500 hours over at least one year, including at least 75 hours of direct one-to-one supervision.
  3. Pass the BACB-approved examination. The examination the Director has approved, not a Vermont-specific test.
  4. Apply to the Office of Professional Regulation. Submit the application and fee directly to the Director; there is no separate board.
  5. Credential with payors. Enroll with Vermont Medicaid and credential with commercial plans, typically via CAQH.
  6. Renew every two years. Complete any continuing education the Director requires, which can be satisfied through BACB certification where deemed equivalent.

Vermont licensing variables at a glance

VariableVermont value
Is ABA a licensed profession?Yes; 26 V.S.A. chapter 95, effective July 1, 2016
Regulating authorityDirector, Office of Professional Regulation; no separate board
Licensed tiersApplied behavior analyst; assistant behavior analyst
Degree requirementDoctoral or master's degree from an ABAI-accredited program or Director-approved equivalent
Supervised practicumAt least 1,500 hours over at least one year; at least 75 hours direct one-to-one
ExaminationBACB-approved nationally recognized examination; no separate Vermont-written test
Licensure by endorsementAvailable for applicants licensed elsewhere under comparable requirements
SupervisionAssistant tier practices under a licensed analyst; numeric detail not independently confirmed
RenewalBiennial, on the Director's schedule
Continuing educationMay be required by the Director; BACB certification or anti-oppression training units can satisfy it
FeesSet under 3 V.S.A. § 125(b); not stated in chapter 95 itself; confirm current amount with the office
Key authorities26 V.S.A. ch. 95; 3 V.S.A. § 125(b)

Frequently asked questions

Which board licenses behavior analysts in Vermont?
There is no separate board. The Director of the Office of Professional Regulation administers the license for both the applied behavior analyst and assistant behavior analyst tiers directly.
Is there a Vermont-specific exam?
No. The statute requires a nationally recognized examination from the BACB that the Director has approved, and is explicit that the Director need not develop or administer its own test.
Does Vermont verify its own fieldwork hours?
Yes. The statute requires at least 1,500 hours of supervised practicum over at least one year, with at least 75 hours of direct one-to-one supervision, as part of eligibility, independent of whatever the BACB itself separately requires.
Is there a continuing education requirement?
The Director may require it as a condition of renewal, and the statute names current BACB certification, anti-oppressive-practice training units, and cross-credited units from another mental health profession as ways to satisfy it.
How often do I renew my Vermont license?
Every two years, on a schedule the Director sets, with biennial notice of expiration dates and requirements.
Is licensure by endorsement available for an out-of-state analyst?
Yes, under a separate statutory section, for an applicant already licensed in another jurisdiction with requirements the Director finds comparable.

Where professional advice is essential, not optional

Confirm the current license and renewal fee directly with the Office of Professional Regulation, since chapter 95 itself cross-references a separate fee statute this guide did not independently fetch, and confirm the exact numeric supervision schedule for the assistant tier. Bring in counsel where licensure meets ownership or multistate practice.

The governing authorities to know are 26 V.S.A. chapter 95 (the licensing chapter, effective July 1, 2016) and 3 V.S.A. § 125(b) (the cross-referenced fee statute).

Confirm current requirements directly

This page is built on a direct fetch of 26 V.S.A. chapter 95's definitions, eligibility, exceptions, renewal, and fee-cross-reference sections, but could not independently confirm the current fee amount or the assistant-tier supervision section's full numeric detail. The Office of Professional Regulation, the BACB, Vermont Medicaid, and each payor provide current requirements. Neither this page nor any secondary source should be relied on in place of direct verification with the relevant authorities.

Last updated October 2026. Vermont's licensing requirements, fees, and payor credentialing processes can change. Nothing here is legal, tax, or business advice. Consult the Office of Professional Regulation, a credentialing specialist, and qualified counsel before relying on this information.